About SPN

The Small Press Network (SPN) is a representative body for small and independent publishers in Australia. It was formed to promote independent publishing and support the principle of diversity within the publishing industry as a vital component of Australian literary culture.

The SPN office is located at the Wheeler Centre in Melbourne on the lands of the Wurundjeri people. We pay our respects to their elders, past, present and future.

SPN is a not-for-profit organisation and its activities are overseen by a board of directors.

SPN is committed to ensuring the continued viability of the independent publishing sector by facilitating collaborative initiatives, networking opportunities, and general communication between small and independent publishers.


The Small Press Network was established in 2006 as the Small Press Underground Networking Community (SPUNC). It was formed in Melbourne and had a small number of members at its origin. Since that time SPN has grown to become a membership organisation with over 140 members throughout Australia and New Zealand. SPN is based in the Wheeler Centre in Melbourne where we share offices with Writers Victoria, Melbourne Writers Festival, Australian Poetry, Emerging Writers’ Festival and Express Media.


SPN’s operations are overseen by a board of directors, which is elected at the AGM. The directors represent some of the most active members of the small publishing community and have a wide range of skills, expertise and experience.

SPN Constitution

It has been proposed that Association’s Constitution be repealed in its entirety and replaced with the constitution tabled at the 2014 AGM on July 24th, with effect from the date such constitution is approved by Consumer Affairs Victoria under the Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012 (Vic).

Meet the team

  • Michael Webster President

  • Michaela Skelly Secretary

  • Bronwyn Mehan Board member

  • Tim Coronel General manager

  • Sophie Masson Vice-president

  • Catherine Lewis Board member

  • Anna Solding Board Member

  • Phil Crowley Board Member

  • Rachel Bin Salleh Board Member

  • Claire Miller Board Member

  • Mary Dalmau Board member

  • Curtis Treloar Treasurer

  • Sarah Cannon board member